Almo Plaza

Walking Tour

By the 1760s, Mission San Antonio de Valero gradually took on a fortified-like appearance as the Spanish padres and occupants, including the Native Americans residing in the mission, constructed exterior walls to protect the inhabitants from Indian raids.  When the site was taken over by the Alamo de Parras military company in ca. 1803, the militarization of the old mission compound continued.  In ca. 1835, the Mexican Army strengthened the site even more.  By the time of the Siege and Battle of the Alamo, the Texans were calling the old mission “Alamo Fortress.”

Much of the original Mission San Antonio de Valero now lies beneath buildings, streets and the plaza you see today. The Alamo of 1836 was nearly four acres in size and sprawled across several city blocks, especially to the west and north of the familiar Church.  Today barely one-third of the original Mission San Antonio de Valero remains.
  • Stacks Image 213108
  • Stacks Image 213111
  • Stacks Image 213114

Alamo Overview by Gary Foreman Photography/Model by Mark Lemon

Copyright © 2016 | Alamo Plaza Mobile Guide. all rights reserved

Almo Plaza

Credit

This mobile tour of historic Alamo Plaza would not have been possible without the assistance of many partners.

Dr. Bruce Winders, The Alamo Curator, Historian and Author

Gary L. Foreman, Native Sun Productions www.nativesunproductions.com

George Nelson, Author of The Alamo: An Illustrated History

The Daughters of the Republic of Texas

State of Texas General Land Office

The Alamo Chapter #40, The Sons of the Republic of Texas

Bob Benavides, San Antonio Living History Association

City of San Antonio’s, Office of Historic Preservation

City of San Antonio’s, Center City Development Office

Images were provided by the following individuals and institutions:

Gary Foreman Photography/Model by Mark Lemon

The Alamo Collection, Artist Gary Zaboly

Mike Harris

The McNay Art Museum

George Nelson

Bruce Mackenzie Martin